FIRM FIT

Kaylee lost 40lbs. with FIRM FIT

As a recovering D1 collegiate athlete, you would think that health and fitness would come natural to me as that is all I knew for the first 22 years of my life. But once I stopped playing Field Hockey at Northwestern University, where I studied Communications and Business, I struggled with good food choices and finding the right workouts. From the time I finished my master’s program at The Medill School at Northwestern University and moved out to Minneapolis for a marketing job at General Mills, I had started to put on some weight. Over the past five years, I gradually gained and lost and gained- I was up about 35 pounds.
I knew that losing weight was going to be a struggle for me. My sophomore year of college I was diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS), and some of the symptoms are the inability to lose weight, ease of putting weight on and craving of carbs. 1 in 10 women suffer from PCOS, the majority of which don’t even know it!
I joined The Firm over a year ago, when a friend dragged me to an APT class. I instantly fell in love. The spin classes, circuit training classes, and kickboxing- I was never going to be bored. But even going to The Firm 4-5x a week, I wasn’t seeing the results that I wanted. I felt like I tried everything- I was gluten free, on Weight Watchers, trying random clean eating challenges, but nothing stuck (except the fat). In fact, I kept gaining weight throughout all this. And that is because I was not committed to the full spectrum of a healthy lifestyle: food, exercise and emotional/mental wellness. Insert Firm FIT.